Structure of the NTEE-CC

The NTEE-CC classification system divides the universe of nonprofit organizations into 26 major groups under 10 broad categories as follows:

  • I. Arts, Culture, and Humanities - A
    II. Education - B
    III. Environment and Animals - C, D
    IV. Health - E, F, G, H
    V. Human Services - I, J, K, L, M, N, O, P
    VI. International, Foreign Affairs - Q
    VII. Public, Societal Benefit - R, S, T, U, V, W
    VIII. Religion Related - X
    IX. Mutual / Membership Benefit - Y
    X. Unknown, Unclassified - Z
NTEE Code (key)DescriptionDefinition
NTEE Code (key)DescriptionDefinition